Bloggery 2: Strategic Reading

I have two brief observations. First, heading one of chapter six is entitled “Don’t Assign the Whole Textbook.” For the record, in my class I am required to have the kids read the whole text book. From this comes many of the difficulties of maintaining student engagement, and seeing real learning. Second, as far as helping secondary students master effective reading strategies, they already have. They have mastered a strategy so effective at bringing up their grades in this course it is hard to get them to try any others. Since they must read the whole book, and much of their grade relies on a fill in the blank work packet, they have mastered skimming for key words or phrases.

I used to marvel that a student will complete their packet perfectly, and then bomb a test, or give me a blank stare in a latter unit when I check for prior learning. Now I see why. They are “reading,” but they are not reading.

I use a word wall often in class to focus on vocabulary as Daniel’s & Zemelman suggest (2014). We often do group readings in class so students can work through vocabulary together. I think the next step will be to try to have strong students read aloud so others can hear the words used as well.

This entry was posted in Bloggery, EDRD 6530 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment